The Cross Law Firm's Landlord Law Blog

May 5, 2010

Serve a Notice for Rule Violation

This is part 7 of my blog series about dealing with threatening and violent residents.  Again, this blog series is targeted at owners of mobilehome parks (“communities”) which are subject to the Mobilehome Residency Law (Civil Code Section 798.1 et seq.) The notice requirements will differ for apartment owners and property management companies that manage apartments or other non-mobilehome/manufactured housing residential units.  The notices provided to dangerous tenants in apartment/rental units  are typically a 3 day notice to cure or quit or a 3 day notice to quit, instead of  a 7 day notice for a rule violation that is required under the Mobilehome Residency Law.

Image of 7-Day Notice being crumpledUpon an incident of a resident’s behavior becoming abusive or threatening, have your attorney send a 7-day notice to the resident notifying them that the behavior toward the management will not be tolerated and it constitutes a substantial annoyance and is a violation of the rules and regulations. Cite the specific rule prohibiting abusive, threatening behavior toward the employee in the 7-day notice. Again be specific in the notice as to exactly what was said by the resident, what actions were displayed, dates and witnesses.

Service of a 7-day notice for rule violation not only protects the threatened employee and sets up the resident’s file for an eviction, but it also protects the owner who is now taking reasonable steps to address a potentially dangerous situation.

* For specific inquiries regarding a threatening/violent tenant you may have, you’re welcome to visit my California Landlord – Tenant legal services page.

April 29, 2010

Call the Police, Make a Report

This is part 6 of my blog series about dealing with threatening and violent residents.

Image of Police OfficerAgain, workplace violence incidents will differ substantially and the specifics of each situation will dictate which response should be taken, if any, and in which order.  In many cases it is necessary to

Call the police, make a report

The most obvious action an employee can and should take if the resident displayed threatening or violent behavior towards them is to call the police to come out and make a police report. Again, whether this option is appropriate, depends on the facts of the situation. If the police are called, get the officer’s name, the incident report number and a copy of the report for your file.

* For specific inquiries regarding a threatening/violent tenant you may have, you’re welcome to visit my California Landlord – Tenant legal services page.

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: